top of page
Writer's pictureFisnik

Creative Cultures / Russel Katz

The brief: get a letter to Russel Katz, who lives in Washington DC. Simple? I mean, we had his adress.. But that’s not the case. The only way Russel was allowed to reieve the letter was from someone he knew on a first name basis, and also knew us. This was definelty a very interesting way to explore interconnectiivty between people, and how our network may be larger then we may have first thought. 


I partnred with Fiyin, Lucy & Ems. We went to the number one place people may not realise they have already exposed a lot of data about themsleves, the internet. A few web searches in, we find information about Russel’s acedemic life, home and phone number. 


Fiyin has a lot of connections in the U.S so he started texting these conenctions asking for help whereas, I do not know any people there. I was thinking about contacting an archetecture practice I worked with in year 13 for a project, 5plus Arcetects. Maybe they would be able to identify someone, who knows someone, who knows someone connected to Katz. However I did not go ahead with this. I will explain why later.


Going through the info I had collected on Katz, I wondered what would happen if I phoned him. So I phoned him. First try, no answer. Second try… someone picked up.

His wife, Randy! This is it. This is how I get to Russel. Chat up his wife, befriend her. BAM! I’ve won the task! Not that simple…


‘Expect our card soon’ I tell Randy over the phone, to which she replied with laughter. Does this mean we are besties now? We didn’t think this was enough, so we added her on Facebook hoping we could depen our conversation and get to know her more. Technically we were on a first name basis… this was enough to get us to send the letter. Addressed to Randy, however intended for Russel, this is what we sent:




0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page