top of page
Writer's pictureFisnik

Kosovo & its Border(s) — Interface Design

Updated: Jun 9, 2019

I have started developing the interface for my project. My data will be displayed on a webpage. The screenshots below shows how I am planning to structure the information on particular pages.


 

For the interface, I have gone with similar colours found on the Republic of Kosovo flag. I have selected the Merriweather typeface because I believe it offers a sense of professionalism and maturity in a topic that it quite controversial. The piece of iconography I have designed is the abstract representation of the disputed border in discussion through two straight lines. I have made it as abstract as possible because there is no correct border at the moment, and all I am presenting is individuals ideas that is not backed up by any government or piece of raw data. Just their personal anecdotes.


Below are some initial designs I am playing with. Nothing is for certain yet.

This is how I am currently picturing the interface. There is a panel on the left showing the border entries made. Once that is clicked, the panel on the right appears and shows the personal anecdote submitted by the user. The border also updates on the centre of the interface.


 

FEEDBACK:

Give the user the ability to view more than one border at a time. This way they are able to compare the data to one another.

This means I would need to ditch the left panel which shows the borders in a list. I can instead show the actual border submitted and that can be clicked on, showing the personal anecdote.


The logo presents many design issues.

Classmates were not happy with the slanted text design and the multiple different font sizes used. In retrospect, I do agree with them.

Make a tool for people to draw the border themself. this This could be a simple drawing tool using P5. You may need a database to store these and show them.

This is good feedback. Currently I have not thought about how I would be getting this information. I went onto devise a questionnaire that I wrote in Albanian. My plan was to distribute this on social networks and analyse the results.

Thinking about it further, this would be very tedious as I would need to interpret myself where the users response thinks the border should be. Allowing the user to draw the border themselves would be idle. This means my project has turned into the tool which allows borders to be submitted.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page