top of page
Writer's pictureFisnik

Project 3: Concrete Data

Updated: Jun 9, 2019

BRIEF: Produce a manifestation of data collected from a border, allowing it to be perceived, narrated, or explored. The manifestation should tell, or allow stories to be told about your chosen border.

 

We began the new brief with a simple task to document the boarders we cross within a one week period.


I cross as many borders/boundaries I could identify, documenting each one I crossed and the manner in which I crossed it. We also had to consider physical borders such as walls, juridical borders such as those of countries, cities, or local authorities, societal borders such as norms or accepted behaviours, digital borders such as sign in pages, WiFi routers, or cell towers, and personal borders such as aims, targets or fears. Below I have attached the boarders I presented.


Example of digital boarders: (from left to right)


Pin code. Presented whilst my phone was locked. I tapped on the virtual keyboard the code which I set up.


Finerprint scan. I placed my fingerprint on the scanner which then allowed my mobile banking app to open.


Password. Presented on the WiFi settings page on my phone. I tapped on the virtual keyboard which I then needed to enter the correct pass key.

Example of physical baorders:


Yellow line which is there to inform you where you should stand for your safety in the undergound. I crossed this boarder when the train approached the platform and the train doors opened.


Bollards along the sidewalk. Located in Canary Wharf. They are there for protection against vehicles. I crossed this boarder by walking through the gaps in between each bollard.


Mechanical gate. They are there for security to monitor who enters the area. I didn't cross this baorder myself but I did see cars that did.

Behavioural boarders. A list of activities, objects you cannot bring into an area presented on the door before you enter. I crossed this boarder by complying to the regulations imposed and walking through.


Smoking zone. Located in Canary Wharf, opposite a building. I crossed this boarder by walking over the red line.


Revolving door. This is a rotating boarder. Often used in buildings which regulate the speed at which an individual enters a building and, preventing cold air from entering. I crossed this boarder by walking through.


Signage. This is an example of written rules presented in an area. It warns the public that they are entering private land. I crossed this boarder by reading the signage and then walking over the bridge.


Metal fence. Located along the barrier between the walkway and the river bank. I did not cross this boarder, but if I was too, I would need to jump over the fence and into the river.


This is a picture of an alcoholic beverage. It presents many boarders to the individual who wishes to consume it.


Societal boarders: these include the law. Is it lawful for that individual to drink the beverage? Are they over the required age? Since I bought this for myself, I passed through this boarder. Another possible boarder is whether the server requires to see any identification before the purchase of the beverage.


Religious/cultural boarder: these can be quite personal to the individual. Do their religious beliefs impose on drinking alcoholic beverages? This boarders did not affect me.


Financial boarder: does the individuals finances allow them to buy the drink?







 

After presenting the boarders I crossed within the week, we had to bring all of our boarders together and connect them to three categories: (1) Manner of Crossing (2) Boarder and (3) Boarder Category. We used different coloured string to connect each image to the categories and the result was a hectic map with lots of connections.


0 comments

Bình luận


bottom of page