top of page
Writer's pictureFisnik

Interface Film Development

Updated: Jan 7, 2020

I started brainstorming ideas for my own interface film. I could introduce some facts and statistics about CCTV and privacy in the UK. These will be shown with a typewriter effect in the film as if it's being typed in real-time.


Below are some images from my first attempt for my film. I presented this to my peers and professors for the first crit of the unit.


I designed this attempt following the style guide for the Cam Wars website I designed and coded. The similar pink border is displayed around the live feeds. I liked this idea, and I believe it worked.


There were some issues with this attempt primarily due to silly oversites, such as the size of the text at the very beginning when I am adding some context to the film. Furthermore, later in the film, the design of the text changes. I was struggling to decide whether I wanted to portray the issues in a fun way or take a serious stance. This was a huge piece of feedback by Oliver.

 

Second attempt: Another oversite was the notification banner element where I describe to the viewer what I am doing through macOS notifications. For the first attempt (left image), I sent messages from my phone to the computer which were then displayed as notifications. I screen recorded these and included them in my film as .mp4 files. After discussing with my peers, someone mentioned I could have used After Effects to create my own, clean notifications as currently, I wasn't able to crop the edges nicely - as seen in the image above. What I did was designed my notification banner in Adobe Illustrator and saved them as .png so they would be transparent and sit on top of the video nicely. I then used keyframes to animate the position of the images, so it looked like they were appearing and disappearing, just as a real notification on macOS would. The image on the right shows how I personalised the notification, with my name and photo which is considerably better than the Google Chrome logo appearing.

 

Reference list:

  • Bsia.co.uk. (2019). British Security Industry Association (BSIA) Trade Association. Available at: https://www.bsia.co.uk/# (Accessed: 6 November 2019).

  • CCTV.co.uk. (2019). How many CCTV Cameras are there in London in 2019?. Available at: https://www.cctv.co.uk/how-many-cctv-cameras-are-there-in-london/ (Accessed: 6 November 2019).

  • Ciafireandsecurity.co.uk. (2019). CIA Fire & Security How many CCTV Cameras are there in the UK? - CIA Fire & Security. Available at: http://www.ciafireandsecurity.co.uk/how-many-cctv-cameras-are-there-in-the-uk/ (Accessed: 6 November 2019).


Third-party videos, audio snippets I have identified which could be used in my film:


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page