top of page
Writer's pictureFisnik

Interface Film Outcome

Updated: Jan 7, 2020



The majority of the film is recorded from the point of view of a computer interface. The only times it isn't is when I am introducing the topic at the beginning, with some facts and statistics about the use of CCTV cameras in society. I created a typewriter effect as I believe it works really well with the interface recording aspect. As someone watches my film, and it fills their whole screen - in fullscreen mode - it's as if someone has taken control of their device and started a one-sided conversation with them about the important issue of unsecured camera systems. I incorporated keyboard typing sound effects and blinker sounds to add emphasis and build a vision on the viewer's mind of someone sitting in front of their computer, typing away, conducting research, and viewing unsecured cameras.


I have experimented with diegetic and non-diegetic sound, and pieces of internal diegetic sound. I have used narration throughout the whole film which takes the sound of a female computer synthesised voice. This voice plays in the film when I want to bring certain aspects of the process to the viewer's centre of attention. For example, I first do this when I show a farm camera feed from Norway. This particular camera system allowed me to control the pan and zoom of the camera. The voice narrates the degrees the camera is rotating to, hopefully giving the user a sense of lawlessness and stalker. This is an example of internal diegetic sound since it is not actually playing in the webpage, I have added it over the user's actions. Examples of diegetic sound include keyboard and mouse clicks which I think do a really good job at building tension. Moreover, I included non-diegetic sound when I set the siren off for a camera. Obviously, we cannot hear the camera siren through the live feed, but we can see the reaction from people in the view. I added a siren sound effect, hopefully producing feelings of shock in the viewer.


The final section of the film shows me physically going to a business and exposing to the owner their camera system is unsecured, allowing anyone to view their live feed. I have included actual footage of myself going to the business and talking to the owner. I did this by screen recording the live feed on a remote computer, at LCC. Throughout the film, I have included intervals where everything disappears and the viewer is confronted with a blank, black, screen. These act as ways to allowing the user to refect quickly about what they have just viewed, and suddenly shock them when they are confronted with a view into somebodies personal life, though these unsecured CCTV cameras.


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page