top of page
Writer's pictureFisnik

Interface Films Research

Updated: Jan 7, 2020

In the previous blog post I wrote about A&B Phones and Laptops and how I notified them about their unsecured CCTV cameras. Whilst I was there, informing them, I was recording the actual events unfold on a remote computer. I did this as I way to document me actually going and exposing to someone. But as I thought about it, I decided to make a video explaining the wider issue of surveillance and privacy to someone who may come across my project since this links in really well with the brief I designed. It both informs and exposes.


My idea behind the video is to have an introduction which shows a variety of unsecured cameras, not just cameras in offices and business, as they can be anything from pet cams, fish tanks and farms. And then have the footage of my visiting the shop


After the interim crit this morning, my peers were pleased with the progress my project made, however, Oliver pointed out that I don't need to show the duration of myself being at the shop and pointed me towards examples of artist that took on an interface film approach - making videos through desktop investigation.


Chloé Galibert-Laîné with her video essay: 'My Crush Was a Superstar', co-authored with Kevin B. Lee, is a short film tracks a French ISIS fighter through a trail of messages, videos and postings to uncover his existence in both social media and reality. The video essay particularly intrigued me for a number of reasons. The way the story is narrated through screen recordings across multiple websites and programs is fluid and works really well. Accompanied by her soft voice, speaking in french, you are able to hear the grief in her voice as she finds out her 'crush' was murdered and her coming to terms with it. The keyboard and mouse clicks build up an image in your head of Chloé browsing the web in the comfort of her home, sipping her cup of tea, helpless. I particularly enjoyed the long stretches of silence, broken by the harsh sound of mouse clicks and keyboard buttons. It reminds you of the effect digital environments, such as social media, has on these terrorist groups.


 

Reference list:

  • Kevin B. Lee. (2019) Available at: https://vimeo.com/kevinblee (Accessed: 6 November 2019).

  • Chloé Galibert-Laîné. (2019). How much can you see of a movie you can't see? Available at: https://www.chloegalibertlaine.com/reading-binging-benning (Accessed: 6 November 2019).

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page