top of page
Writer's pictureFisnik

Cam Wars: Interface Feedback

Updated: Jan 7, 2020

My interface was at a good stage to start receiving feedback from users. I developed a questionnaire which focused on the emotions the user was feeling as they interacted with the interface. What they liked about the design, and what they would change. I questioned 5 people are this was their feedback:


What are your initial thoughts?


After reading the intro paragraph, and seeing the interface for the first time, these were the user's initial thoughts:

  • 'Creeped out'

  • 'People should really secure their cameras'

  • 'I feel intrigued. I like snooping on people'

  • 'I feel like its doing something dogy when you read the 'caution' bit' - User is referring to the caution message which informs them their IP will be shared with the CCTV systems they are viewing.

  • 'I feel a bit excited'

  • 'Tense, a bit creepy'

  • 'Interesting idea to view unsecured CCTV cameras'

  • 'Intro doesn't contextualise why im looking at this, what were the steps that bought me here?'

  • 'I'm not feeling anything in particular'

  • 'Im excited to see some CCTV'

  • 'Curious'

  • 'I feel like a massive creep'

  • 'I was expecting the button to be directly under the intro text'

  • 'The interface design makes me feel interested'

  • The 'interface colours are better than the previous [yellow] design'

  • 'Home button is not centered'

  • 'I feel confused, why would you want to look at people'

  • 'It's a mysterious interface - makes you curious, what you will see when you proceed'


What are your thoughts on the interface/design?


User 1

  • 'Its good that it now shows 6 feeds at once'

  • 'There is an issue with the feed description, doesn't actually say what is it'

  • 'Where is the voting system?' The user asked me this question. It was made apparent to me that this could have been made clearer as currently, the user needs to hover their cursor over the feeds for the vote button to appear.

  • 'Maybe you could add an animation' Adding some sort of feedback to the voting system so the user understands their vote has gone through.

  • 'I can't see a house in the feed, its difficult to answer the question. Maybe the question could be changed'

  • 'Maybe add the Cam Wars title to this part of the interface'


User 2

  • 'The interface has an interesting feeling'

  • 'The question is a bit strange, can't really see the full house, maybe a different question would be better'

  • 'Better feedback is needed for the voting system'

  • 'The footer is confusing. The average person doesn't know thats how CCTV interfaces react' - The user was commenting on this after I explain how the footer disappears after a few seconds.

  • 'Now that I can see people in the feeds, I feel like I am violating their privacy. I feel bad for the workers'

  • 'It's not a fair comparison if you are showing only 6 at the same time and they alternate'

  • 'I thought there were only 6 feeds. I didn't know there were more'

  • 'You could make it clearer which cameras are deliberately unsecured and which are not'


User 3

  • 'Interface looks fine, it's clear'

  • 'Pink is not the best colour. There is a lot of green in the camera feeds and the two colours are opposing'

  • 'It's a very funcitonal interface. It does exactly what it says'

  • 'You could make the question clearer. I first noticed the camera feeds and not the question. I only noticed it after looking at the top left feed'

  • 'I can't fully see the house to answer the question'

  • 'Maybe you could click on the whole image to vote instead of the small button'

  • 'After I voted, nothing happened'

  • 'The results page is a cool idea' - User is referring to an unreleased feature I mentioned during the interview.

  • 'You could use cookies to maintain the load state'

  • 'When a camera doesn't load, you could add an error message'


User 4

  • 'The first thing I noticed was the feeds'

  • 'I see people moving and empty office'

  • 'Clicking vote was not obvious. It should just be visible'

  • 'The footer buttons should be at the top where there is available space instead of disappearing'

  • 'I can't tell what the feed is showing'

  • 'Hover should be rethinked, maybe always visible'


User 5

  • 'I like the bright colours'

  • 'I like the fake CCTV user interface with the twist' - User is referring to the voting system.

  • 'When you click on a category whilst cameras are already showing, maybe you could hide the previous cameras so it doesn't feel like the users input didn't register'


I then continued developing the interface and working on the code to incorporate some of the feedback I received. You can view the final outcome here.



0 comments

Comments


bottom of page