top of page
Writer's pictureFisnik

Visualising through Unity

Updated: Apr 19, 2020

I have experience with 3D software during my GCSEs and A-Levels when I studied Graphic Design and 3D Product Design. I mainly used SketchUp to produce my models. In year 2 for the Digital Currency project, I used SketchUp to design a Necklace, which I then 3D printed using the 3D workshop facilities available at LCC. I had never used Unity though, nonetheless, I am excited to get a grasp of this 3D modelling tool. I decided to use Unity for this project because Unity allows me to embed my file in an HTML website which can then be accessed remotely by the user, they don't need to download any extra software, and they can explore the visualisation as if they had Unity installed on their device. It was so important my user could do this, so they can see the data visualisation in the space I designed.


As discussed in a previous blog post, I have taken inspiration from the DoppelLab project by Joseph A. Paradiso, Brian Mayton and Gershon Dublon. This project "represented the rich, multimodal sensor data produced by a building and its inhabitants [...] Currently, we virtually spatialize streams of audio recorded by nodes throughout the physical space" (MIT Media Lab, 2020).




My Unity idea

How I plan to adapt this technique to my project is by designing the space of the person the data is collect off, me. I would design my living space but not design it in enough detail where the space becomes the centre of attraction. I plan to remove useless details such as the colour of my walls, floor, bedsheets etc. The main responsibility of the Unity aspect of the project is to show a visualisation of how sensors in someone's lives space are constantly monitoring and working together to collect data to be used in prediction programs, as mentioned by Zuboff. Below I have attached screenshots of the Unity model, and how it's progressing.



 

Reference list:

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page